Operating a Vehicle Without Insurance
Uninsured Drivers in Fort Wayne, IN
Every driver in Indiana is required to have insurance coverage of at least $25,000 per person to legally operate a vehicle. The motorist laws also mandate that drivers must have $50,000 of coverage per accident. According to statistics, one in every five drivers in Indiana doesn't have the proper or required insurance to operate a motor vehicle. While insurance can be difficult to afford with other expenses, most uninsured drivers cause millions of dollars in damage every year. Indiana does have laws to protect responsible drivers, however, as they offer uninsured motorist coverage to prevent insured drivers from suffering in the case of an accident. If individuals choose to operate a vehicle without financial responsibility, the state has laws that penalize those drivers.
If you have been involved in an accident as an uninsured motorist, getting legal support is extremely important. A Fort Wayne traffic defense attorney may be able to help you avoid serious penalties, like a suspended license or a $300 fine. You will need a lawyer to provide you with sound legal guidance and advice. With the help of a lawyer, you may be able to negotiate with the insurance companies or reduce the penalties you are facing. While driving a vehicle without proper insurance is a risk, going to court without experienced legal support is a bigger risk.
As a seasoned criminal defense attorney, I know the dangers of entering a courtroom unprepared. My name is Gregory A. Miller and I handle numerous traffic defense cases every year. I work with my clients to investigate all of the details surrounding their accident or violation to build the best possible case. My goal is to provide personal and dependable service to the individuals that need it. Clients can call me any time through my 24/7 emergency line. If you are looking for a traffic defense lawyer to assist you with your case, contact me today.
Uninsured Motorist Costs
Most uninsured drivers plan to drive safely or avoid any potential speeding temptations. Whether you are involved in an accident, issued a speeding ticket or pulled over for a routine traffic stop, you will be penalized if you don't have the proper insurance coverage. Even uninsured drivers that do everything they can to adhere to all the driving regulations could still be pulled over. While the best option for avoiding fines is for uninsured drivers to acquire insurance, there may be factors that make that difficult.
If you don't have the right coverage on the day you receive the ticket, it will result in a suspended license for 90 days. Motorist will also have to pay a reinstatement fee of $150 for a first-time violation. If you violate the uninsured motorist law a second time, you will have another 90-day suspension and a $225 fine.
The fine will increase to $300 for a third offense and the same period of suspension. If you are involved in an accident, you may have to pay compensation or further fees to the other party, especially if serious injuries or death occurs. Medical bills, restitution and lost wages may all be your responsibility if a lawsuit is filed. As an attorney, I know that this time can be very difficult, especially when accidents occur. The costs for driving without insurance may range in severity, but having the right legal protection is always important. Whether you only need courtroom representation or you are looking for a strategy to fight a lawsuit, I may be able to help.
Contact us today for a free consultation, we can go through the details of your case.
22+ Years of Legal Experience
More Than 2,500 Cases Handled
AVVO 10.0 Rating
Committed to Achieving the Best Possible Outcome
Member of National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
Personalized Dedication to Each Client